• Hi there! Kraken is a forum for readers who love to write; be you an aspiring author, a fanficcer, or a roleplayer. We're hoping to build an inclusive and friendly community where we can talk about all the stories we love, support each other's work, and inspire a new generation of writers. Does this sound like fun? Join us!

    Note: Kraken is an 18+ community! We think teenagers are cool, but many adults don't feel comfortable talking about Fifty Shades of Grey, that one really creepy scene in It, or dirty fanfics with young people. Come back later, we'll still be here!

External Resources for Writers

Kraken

Crime of the Filthy Stranger
This thread will house a collection of great resources to inspire and education. Feel free to link some of your own and we'll periodically update this top post.



Writing Prompts
MuseInspired.net

Random Generators
MixVixen.org
 

Erik K. Osbourne

Crime of the Filthy Stranger
Staff Member
Copied from SEKRIT PLACES:

WRITING RESOURCES & BLOGS
Behind the Name - The Meaning and History of First Names - Behind the Name | https://www.behindthename.com/
Chaotic Shiny - Chaotic Shiny - Writing and RPG-Related Generators | http://chaoticshiny.com/index.php
DAVE vs. BRAIN - http://www.davevsbrain.gribblymonstermanufacture.co.uk/
Dialogue Study - https://preview.redd.it/fa648sz33am21.jpg?width=640&crop=smart&auto=webp&s=a138310fe3a2969453834ba7124eaa2f85fa29ba
Epic Fantasy Writer - John Robin's Blog | https://epicfantasywriter.wordpress.com/
Fighting the Writer's Block by Jay Penner on Medium - Fighting The Writer’s Block | https://medium.com/@jay.penner/i-cant-write-another-word-fighting-the-writer-s-block-780cdeb6bcae
Neil Gaiman: Advice to Authors - Neil Gaiman | FAQs | Advice to Authors | http://www.neilgaiman.com/FAQs/Advice_to_Authors#q1
The POV Cheat Sheet—Jay Penner Books - https://www.jaypenner.com/blog/the-pov-cheatsheet
Seventh Sanctum - Seventh Sanctum: the page of generators - random tools for art, gaming, writing, and imagination. | https://www.seventhsanctum.com/
T.R. Chandler: Writing Tips - Writing Tips | TR Chandler | http://trchandlerwrites.com/category/writing-tips
Why We Didn't Buy Your Story—Dreamforge Magazine - Why We Didn't Publish Your Story. Can You Handle the Truth? | https://dreamforgemagazine.com/why-we-didnt-buy-your-story/

WRITING SUBREDDITS
r/characterforge - r/characterforge | https://www.reddit.com/r/characterforge
r/fantasywriters - r/fantasywriters | https://www.reddit.com/r/fantasywriters/
r/worldbuilding - r/worldbuilding | https://www.reddit.com/r/worldbuilding/
r/Writeresearch - r/Writeresearch | https://www.reddit.com/r/writeresearch
r/writing - r/writing | https://www.reddit.com/r/writing/
r/WritingPrompts - r/WritingPrompts | https://www.reddit.com/r/WritingPrompts/

WRITING TOOLS AND CLASSES
DarkMarkets: The Online Market Guide for Horror Writers - https://www.darkmarkets.com/?m=0
MasterClass: Margaret Atwood - https://www.masterclass.com/classes/margaret-atwood-teaches-creative-writing?utm_source=Paid&utm_medium=Reddit&utm_term=Aq-Prospecting&utm_content=Image-ROS-Desktop-Evergreen&utm_campaign=MA
MasterClass: Neil Gaiman - https://www.masterclass.com/classes/neil-gaiman-teaches-the-art-of-storytelling?utm_source=Paid&utm_medium=AdWords&utm_campaign=NG&utm_content=Brand-+masterclass +neil +gaiman-US_BM&utm_term=Aq-Prospecting&gclid=CjwKCAiAqt7jBRAcEiwAof2uK7y4uClFvnBfvbGnG5p4NnoiveKdoOxNlTLGXiy8iVr1ey7WiYcCWxoCz-cQAvD_BwE
The Most Dangerous Writing App - https://www.themostdangerouswritingapp.com/

WORD PROCESSORS/TEXT EDITORS/NOTE PROGRAMS
Campfire - https://www.campfiretechnology.com/
Cold Turkey - https://getcoldturkey.com/writer/
Evernote - https://evernote.com/
Final Draft - https://www.writersstore.com/final-draft-screenwriting-software/
LibreOffice - https://www.libreoffice.org/discover/writer/
Pulp and Nib - https://pulpandnib.com/
Scrivener - https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview
Sublime Text - https://www.sublimetext.com/
Ulysses - https://ulysses.app/

WORLDBUILDING RESOURCES
Create a Language: WikiHow - https://www.wikihow.com/Create-a-Language
How to Create Your Own Language—Council of Elrond - http://www.councilofelrond.com/subject/how-to-create-your-own-language/
r/worldbuilding - r/worldbuilding | https://www.reddit.com/r/worldbuilding/
World Anvil Worldbuilding Resources - https://www.worldanvil.com/w/WorldAnvilCodex/a/worldbuilding-resources-article

NANOWRIMO
Camp NaNoWriMo - https://campnanowrimo.org/
National Novel Writing Month Official Site - https://nanowrimo.org/
r/nanowrimo - https://www.reddit.com/r/nanowrimo
 
Last edited:
Top
lackadaisical-pension
lackadaisical-pension